Do You See Jesus in your morning toast?

Do you see Jesus in your morning toast?

images

Monsters in floorboard woodgrain?  “Researchers used MRI technology to monitor brain activity and determined that the frontal cortex, where expectations are generated, sent signals to the posterior visual cortex, which processes the…” blah blah… it’s just letting imagination flow. Nothing abnormal about this, artists (and scientists) should use this ability daily.

ebrolga 1

I’m waiting to hear of a robot which has…. imagination.

Today I’m making arid-land escarpment ‘rocks’ for our MIFGS installation, from cardboard. How? By using my imagination. Children with instruction do this all the time.

ebrolga 2  ebrolga early

Sadly most people seem to lose this ability as they age. Adults these days require computer generated props or gaming software in order to learn to play. Commercial game makers have become a billion dollar industry by usurping adult imagination.

emailDSCF9569

Life generally is governed by silent rules e.g. choosing which side of the road to drive, how to speak in a civil way, how to eat with ‘manners.’

ebrolga 3

This is something which is governed very much by culture. In China slurping as you eat and messing the table is considered appreciative of a meal, not so in the West. Nose blowing with handkerchief however, is not considered etiquette in the East. I sometimes think a lack of understanding of ‘foreign’ body language is an under-examined cause of conflict.

ebrolga 5

Making artwork is one happy place where rules do not apply, in fact artists have a habit of purposefully abandoning accepted ‘rules ‘or ‘manners’ to extend an idea, or experiment on audience reaction. The naked human body is an example of this and has been used by generations of artists in every conceivable manifestation. e.g. Stelarc hangs his naked body on hooks http://stelarc.org/?catID=20325

ebrolga 4

If asked how I make or why use a particular method, my answer is inevitably; I use what works for me. Power-saws, hammers and even boots are used to achieve shape. Or, how to determine shape, colour or surface?

wordpress

Look at nature; it’s there for the asking.

New wel

So if you see Jesus in your morning toast, don’t despair, you may be an afflicted artist too.

MIFGS, Melbourne International Flower and Garden Show opens at Exhibition Buildings Melbourne, and surrounding gardens, 16th  – 20th March 2016. We will be in the Boutique Garden section.

6 thoughts on “Do You See Jesus in your morning toast?”

      1. I think working around Christmas / New Year always feels a bit odd too. It does for me, anyway. I look forward to seeing the finished product.

        Like

      2. Working at Xmas keeps me off the roads and away from the mad consumer rush Paula, there’s also a dead-line which requires finding a builder (not easy) selecting and ordering suitable plants and working out how all this comes together for the MIFGS event. I am also presenting my work in the Goulburn Valley irrigation district Feb 24th as introduction to a 6 day workshop in April. Hope you had a more relaxed time than me.

        Liked by 1 person

  1. I’m kinda glad I didn’t see Jesus during brekky. I think he’d freak me out…so early in the day. Nice little read with pics Peter…thanks. Julie

    Like

  2. Hi Julie, thanks for commenting. I thought it would be good to take some photos while in process so readers can see how I go about working. Science people may not get much exposure to art making. This is not he finished piece, just the stage on which the other elements will be located for the event.

    Like

Please leave a Reply

